Atlantic Technological University is born

The three north and west ITs, Galway Mayo Institute of Technology, Institute of Technology Sligo and Letterkenny Institute of Technology will be combined to form the Atlantic Technological University.
A new research project, LAIBRE, looks to leverage Artificial Intelligence (AI) to remove any bias from the recruitment process helping to attract more diverse talent.
Over 3,000 students, staff and external stakeholders were surveyed by the company as part of the naming process.
Minister Simon Harris said: “‘Atlantic’ conveys power, strength, inspiration, creation, vast horizons. A distinctive geography, rich history and shared heritage.”